Pause – A Quiet Rebellion

Tuesday 18th January 2022
(Multiple Dates Between Tuesday 18th January 2022 & Saturday 29th January 2022)


How we deploy our time and attention affects how we shape our lives. Every day, social media demands a click-and-flit attention, amassing profits for those behind click-based advertising, but the benefits for us are uncertain. Pause is an opportunity to take your time, to linger. It is a quiet rebellion.

 

The diverse artwork in Pause uses the interaction among marks, colours, words and empty space to offer an opportunity for focused attention on, and the appreciation of, the subtleties that result. The works in Pause include paint on a variety of surfaces, such as vintage lino samples, collage with vintage book papers and original writing, among other items.

 

Beth will be at the Town Hall on Saturday Dec 18 at 10:30 for those who are interested in asking questions about the artworks, and about the ideas and processes involved in their making.

 

Beth is a Canadian who has been in Australia for many years. She has had work in group and solo exhibitions in Western Australia and in the eastern states. Beth’s commitment to abstraction arises from the challenge presented by shape, colour, marks, spatial relationships, and their myriad combinations over a divided and/or layered surface. These elements have power in and of themselves. In addition, she is interested in the process, in exploring the balance between the intuitive and the considered, between improvisation and composition. The work evolves over time and requires considerable looking and pondering. Each step presents many options that influence the next.

Event Date(s)

  • Tuesday 18th January 2022
  • Wednesday 19th January 2022
  • Thursday 20th January 2022
  • Friday 21st January 2022
  • Saturday 22nd January 2022
  • Sunday 23rd January 2022
  • Monday 24th January 2022
  • Tuesday 25th January 2022
  • Wednesday 26th January 2022
  • Thursday 27th January 2022
  • Friday 28th January 2022
  • Saturday 29th January 2022

Back to All Events